Skip to content

General Contact Information


Phone: 646-660-6500

Fax: 646-660-6501




Mailing Address:

Office of the Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Baruch College/CUNY

One Bernard Baruch Way
Box D-701

New York, NY 10010-5585


Walk-In Address:

Administrative Center

135 East 22nd Street, 7th Floor

Office of the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Message Archive

Monday, March 18, 2013


This email is being sent to all members of the Baruch College faculty.

 For an archive of announcements sent from the Provost’s Office beginning June 2011, see


Congratulations to the following three members of our community for essays that won this year’s Abraham J. Briloff Prizes in Ethics:


Faculty Winner

Gayle Delong, Bert Wasserman Department of Economics and Finance, won a prize of $1,500 for “Conflicts of Interest in Vaccine Safety Research” (published in Accountability in Research: Policies and Quality Assurance, Vol. 19, Issue 2, pp. 65-88). The Briloff Committee described Prof. Delong's article as “an excellent exposition of ethical issues and biases in the examination of conflicts of interests related to vaccine safety research. The main thrust of this paper is the questioning of the ethics of industry sponsorship of vaccine use.”


Graduate Student Winner
Sharon Williams, an MBA student in the Zicklin School of Business, won $500 for “Is Direct-to-Consumer Advertising by Pharmaceutical Companies Ethical to Patients?” The committee wrote: “This paper examines the issue of the ethics of direct-to-consumer advertising of prescription drugs. A timely assessment, it evaluates the ethics of marketing against medical advice.”

Undergraduate Winner
Tannaz Zafarnia,
a sophomore majoring in Political Science won a Briloff Prize of $500 for “Sanctions on the Iranian Populace: A War Against the People.” The members of the committee asserted: “This undergraduate paper makes a strong statement against the ethics of western sanctions on Iran. It concludes by arguing that such sanctions have a deleterious effect on Iranian people and are ultimately counter-productive.”


We are grateful to the members of the Briloff Prize Committee for their hard work: Christopher Hallowell (Journalism), Paula Walter (Law), and Dan Williams (SPA). A complete list of winners of the Briloff Prizes since 1995, along with links to some of the winning essays, may be seen at




Dennis Slavin

Associate Provost and Assistant Vice President

Baruch College, CUNY

646-660-6504 (phone); 646-660-6531 (fax)