Skip to content

General Contact Information


Phone: 646-660-6500

Fax: 646-660-6501




Mailing Address:

Office of the Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Baruch College/CUNY

One Bernard Baruch Way
Box D-701

New York, NY 10010-5585


Walk-In Address:

Administrative Center

135 East 22nd Street, 7th Floor

Office of the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Message Archive

Wednesday, August 20, 2014


This email is being sent to all members of the Baruch College faculty.

For an archive of announcements sent from the Associate Provost beginning June 2011, click here.


From:  Dave Christy, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Baruch College warmly welcomes thirty-eight new full-time members of our faculty in a variety of academic appointments beginning this Fall.  These faculty represent another significant investment in our commitment to effectively serving Baruch students, and to knowledge creation and thought leadership for the benefit humanity. 

The Zicklin School of Business welcomes six tenure-track Assistant Professors. Yuanfeng Cai and Wei Luo join the Department of Statistics and CIS; Xi Dong, Maria Halbinger, and Laetitia Placido join the Wasserman Department of Economics & Finance, and Subprasiri Siriviryakul joins the Ross Department of Accountancy. Dean H. Fenwick Huss also joined the faculty as tenured professor of accountancy.    

Rahul Merchant joins the Loomba Department of Management as Distinguished Lecturer, providing leadership to the CUNY business incubator project. Marshall Sponder joins the Aaronson Department of Marketing as Lecturer, and Jiaxin Liu, Douglas Tanner and Yan Yan are each appointed as substitute Lecturer in Accountancy.

The Newman Library welcomes tenure track Assistant Professor Jessica Wagner and substitute Assistant Professor Evelyn Leahy.

The School of Public Affairs welcomes five new faculty. These include tenure track appointments of Associate Professor Anna D’Souza and Assistant Professor Ideen Riahi; Robert Walsh began service as Distinguished Lecturer in February. Michael Williams joins as substitute Assistant Professor, as does Marco Desena as substitute Instructor. 

The Weissman School of Arts and Sciences welcomes the largest group of our new colleagues, with sixteen tenure track Assistant Professors, and three additional appointments. Author Mary Gaitskill will serve as the Sidney Harmon Visiting Professor of Journalism and the Writing Professions. Bruce Payne has been appointed Distinguished Lecturer in Communication Studies, and will lead the launch of our newly approved Master of Arts in Arts Administration, with potential to include faculty from three schools and multiple departments. Myeika Steward begins service as a College Lab Technician in Natural Sciences. New Assistant Professors include Louis-Pierre Arguin and Feng Chen in Mathematics, Sarah Bishop and Allison Hahn in Communication Studies, Lisa Blankenship, Allison Curseen, and Laura Kolb in English, Jean Gaffney and Stephen Gosnell in Natural Sciences, Jonathan Gilmore in Philosophy, Max Kramer in Modern Languages and Comparative Literatue, Roseanne McManus in Political Science, Chun-Wo Pat in Fine and Performing Arts, Mark Rice in History, and Nicholas Sibrava and Steven Young in Psychology.


Dave Christy, PhD

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Baruch College

City University of New York

135 East 22nd Street Suite D-0701

New York, NY 10010

Office main 646 660 6500

Office fax 646 660 6501